My make up brush collection and review (Masami Shouko, Everyday Minerals, e.l.f, Skin Food, Tammia)

Hello everyone, I’m back!! Hahaha, and now I’m gonna show you my make up brushes, from eye brushes until face brushes, so lot of pictures, and I’m planning on uploading the pictures first, and then edit it for the review of each brush. Enjoy!! (^_^)/

Masami Shouko Angled Shading Brush 202.
IDR 25.900.

image

image

This is my very first brush of branded make up brush, and my first brush of Masami Shouko. I bought it at SOGO Galaxy Mall Surabaya.
The handle comes in doff type with silver ferrule. I choose the medium one, I believe there’s a Large and Small version of this.

The bristle is natural hair, dark brown colour, the natural hair will help to pick up much pigments of the eyeshadow, so it will give you a bold colour. I put so much hope on this brush, but, it turn out to be very disappointing. The bristles who make me feel disappoint, it is sooo scratchy!! My first non unbranded brush and it’s so scratchy. I keep on trying to find a way to make it not scratchy on my eyelids, but it still didn’t change. I can’t stand it anymore and then I made a change to this brush by cutting its bristles!!

image

I know this is so barbar behaviour, but I’m trying to make it wearable and not too scratchy. I cut it into eyeshader shape of eyeshadow brush, hahaha. The result is, it is not too scratchy anymore but still have its scratchyness left eventho just a little, still not feels soft on my lids.

Masami Shouko Angled/Bent Liner Brush 309.
IDR 25.900.

image

This is my next eyebrushes from masami I believe. I bought it at…ummm SOGO Galaxy either as I remember.
This one is silver ferrule, I’m a bit confuse at first when I have to choose the black or silver ferrule. Now that I have chose the silver, I kinda regret not picked up the black one instead of silver *forgive me for my bad and late decision*.

The handle is doff type as a reguler series. The bent shape is unique, at first I have no idea how to use it until I watch a make up tutorial video and the beauty guru use this type of brush. It’s a 3 tone brush, synthetic, and it can be used for liquid and cream product. Not too stiff and not too wobbly.
I use it for my liquid eyeliner because the bent shape makes me able to see my eyes without too much being blocked by my hand *you know what I mean right?*, if I use angled liner brush or any liner brush and the shape is not bent like this, my hand tends to blocked the view of my lid (-.-”

image

Masami Shouko M Lid Brush 206.
IDR 25.900.

image

This is the next eye brush that I collect. Disappointed by the angled shading brush, I’m looking for another shader brush, but I’m not interested in original standard eyeshader brush, so I choose this lid brush in medium size, the small version is out of stock at that time, and the small one is too small for lid brush in my opinion, except if I use it smudging the liner or the shadow.
I bought it at Matahari TP Surabaya on my birthday. A little treat for me, hahaha.

Again, the handle is doff type, silver ferrule, and the size of the handle is quite big compare to the eyebrushes series.
The bristles are better than the angled shading, it is less pricky&scratchy, it is also a dark brown natural bristles, the shape is getting pointy at the edge/outer part, if I use the side part for all over the lid eyeshadow it doesn’t feel scratchy at all, but if I use the edge/pointy part it does feel a bit pricky but it’s not a major issue. I’m still able to tolerate it.

Masami Shouko Detail Eyeliner Brush 311.
IDR 25.900.

image

I bought this together with the M Lid Brush on my birthday. Yes, I picked up two brushes at that time.
The handle is doff type, silver ferrule, synthetic bristles. The bristles are light brown, tiny, flat, and a bit pointy. It is supposed to be used for liquid, cream, or powder product. I usually use it for powder shadow, I haven’t tried to use it with liquid or cream product such as liquid liner or gel liner.
It is soft just like most of synthetic brushes. The handle is so thin and tiny, and so lightweight. I use it for black eyeshadow that I use as an eyeliner on the outer part/outer V of my eyelid, or inner corner for highlight, it can be used as a smudger brush also.

Masami Shouko Flat Definer Brush 307.
IDR 25.900.

image

I bought this one from their website together with the Tapered Foundation because at that time the professional line is not available in stores.
The handle is doff type with silver ferrule, but I believe this one only comes in silver ferrule type. The bristles are synthetic with light brown color just like the Detail Eyeliner, but the size of the handle is not so tiny. The bristle is so thin, it is flat, not angled, but the edge of the bristles (outer side of each edge) is a bit pricky sometimes, because the texture is quite stiff the edge is quite sharp, I use dabbing motion rather than swiping because I might hurting my eyes if I swipe it. It can be used for liquid and creamy product also since it’s synthetic, but I use it for powder eyeshadow just like Detail Eyeliner brush, I will try to use it for gel and liquid liner soon (^_^).

Masami Shouko Tapered/Precision Foundation Brush 19.
IDR 148.900.

image

image

I looovveee this brush, soft and dense bristles, and tapered shape makes it easy to reach hard-to-reach area such as around eyes, nose, or mouth. It is synthetic with 3 tone color. It can be used for primer, liquid or creamy foundation, and concealer. I’ve been trying to use it for all those purpose, and it works well. It is also easy to be cleaned. It’s worth every penny.

The handle is glossy type with silver ferrule but it’s 18cm in length, I guess all the professional line comes in 18cm long whether it’s silver or black ferrule. The handle is not too big, not as big as HD Foundation 319, and it makes me easy to hold it well, and glossy type makes it not slippery to grab, sometimes the regular line with doff type feels a bit slippery and I did often almost dropped it.

image

Tammia Lip Brush.
IDR 18.900.

image

This is the only lip brush that I have. But I haven’t use it as a lip brush because I usually use it as an eyeshadow brush for the upper eyelash part, I mean the part on eyelid above the line of eyeliner. Sometimes I use it for outer V, or lower inner corner for highlight.

The material of the handle is doff type, black ferrule, 18cm long. The bristles are dark yellow and light brown synthetic. I bought this brush at Matahari Surabaya Plaza/Delta Plaza.

Tammia Crease Brush.
IDR 22.900.

image

The material of the handle is is doff type, black ferrule, 18cm long. I bought it at Matahari Tunjungan Plaza Surabaya. It’s a dark brown natural bristles, it’s soft, the shape is quite unique for a crease brush. I usually use it as an all over the lid brush, crease brush, outer corner brush, and blending brush. It’s not a dome shaped but it works as a crease brush, and because it’s not a dome shaped it also works as a blending brush and all over the lid brush, such a multitask brush, and cheap (^_^)b.

image

e.l.f Studio Small Stipple, Stipple, and Powder Brush.
IDR 55.000 each.

image

From the left : Small Stipple, Stipple, Powder brush.

I bought this from an online shop on facebook called Makeup Brushes Elf for IDR 55.000 each, such a great deal. The small stipple brush is rarely seen, so I decided to put it on top of my wishlist. The bristles of all three are synthetic, but small stipple have a softer bristles compare to stipple brush. The stipple brush tends to feels pricky and it also feels plasticky. I usually use small stipple for liquid foundation or bbcream, and cream blush.
For stipple brush, eventho the bristles are quite sparse compare to other duo fibre brush, but it does a nice job for liquid foundation and bronzer and I usually use it for liquid foundation, and bronzer so that I can build up the intensity of the color.
For the powder brush, I usually use it for powder, both compact and loose powder, and also as blush brush.
It all comes in doff type material, black ferrule, 18cm long, but because it’s a face brush, eventho it’s a doff type it doesn’t feel slippery like the eyebrushes. I like the powder and small stipple brush better than the stipple brush.

Everyday Minerals Eye Kabuki Brush.
IDR 88.000.

image

I bought this brush from online shop http://www.indomakeup.com, together with their mineral foundation, I bought them in shade Fairly Light Matte and Medium Semi Matte. Here’s the review of Everyday Minerals Powder Foundation

Eye kabuki brush claimed to be used as an eyeshadow brush, a blending brush or all over the lid brush I guess, but I usually use it as a concealer brush, powder brush for undereye area, and I’m planning on to use it as an eyeshadow brush.
The bristles are also 3 tone synthetic brush. Soft and dense. The handle is made from a glossy bamboo handle with silver ferrule if I’m not mistaken. It’s about 14cm long and quite big handle for an eyebrush.

The Skinfood Pack Brush.
IDR 22.000.

image

image

It is a pack brush, for applying sleeping pack, and also face mask. I bought it from online shop http://www.chic-princessa.com. The bristles are synthetic, dense and stiff. It comes in orange color with glossy yellow creme handle and black ferrule. It’s 18cm long, sleek design, and I love looking at it, but to be honest, I haven’t use it yet, not even once, hahaha… because I’m still not in the mood to use face mask. Sorry~ (^^)v
Update: I use this for applying my face mask a moment ago, it feels good, glide on easily, and able go create thin layer. After using it, of course I wash the brush, after it gets dry, I saw some bristles have differ length, and when I pull them, they are easily shedding!!! A lot!!! This is one of them :

image

After that, I use pliers and squeeze the edge of the ferrule, hope it will not sheds anymore.

Unbranded Fan Brush.
IDR 6.500.

image

I bought this brush in a supermarket nearby my house. The bristles are synthetic white, not too stiff and not too wobbly. I use it for applying blush, remove the excess powder, or remove the fall out of the eyeshadow on cheekbones.
The handle is such a cheap material and not smooth, well, it does a cheap brush, what else can I say?

Unbranded Brush Set.
IDR 17.500.

image

I bought this along with the fan brush, but I didn’t use the sponge tip applicator and the brush comb. It’s a synthetic 2 tone brush, creme and light brown, but I use the powder brush and concealer brush the most because the angled liner brush is not thin enough.

Tammia Kabuki Brush.
IDR 70.000.

image

Masami Shouko HD Foundation Brush 319.
IDR 89.900.

image

I already did a review on Tammia Kabuki and Masami HD Foundation. You can check it here Tammia Large Kabuki Brush and here Masami Shouko HD Foundation 319

Recently, I bought myself 2 new brushes from Masami Shouko. One from their professional Line and the other one is from their reguler line.

image

I bought Foundation Brush 302 and Tapered Blending Brush 38.
Masami Professional line brushes are available at SOGO since around April to May. I bought mine at SOGO. I’m so happy to be able to touch, try it out, and purchase the professional line from the store. No need to wait for the brush to come to my house.

image

image

I think this is the new version of their foundation brush. It has 3 tone colour just like tapered foundation. It has brush guard that comes with the brush also, the old version I believe without any brush guard and it comes in 2 tone colour, and also smaller. This one is bigger, both the bristles and the handle. The handle also glossy type, like the pro one, not a doff type like the reguler line usually have. The ferrule is black, 18cm type with the black ferrule, silver ferrule is 14cm long.
The bristles are so soft, not too stiff and not too wobbly. I use it for applying bbcream, liquid foundation, creamy foundation, and blend liquid to creamy concealer. It really works well, but of course it’s not for buffing, if you like buffing your foundation, you might not really like it, except if you use this brush to spread your foundation, and then buff your foundation with big dense foundation brush, it could be rounded, angled, or even flat top such as Sigma Sigmax Synthetic Kabuki Brush. It says that it also can be used to apply primer. It’s so easy to be cleaned, no shedding.

image

The other brush I purchase is Tapered Blending Brush from the professional line. The handle as usual is glossy just like the other professional series. The ferrule is silver but in pro series, silver ferrule is 18cm, this one have the same length as tapered foundation from pro series also.
The bristles are white, not pure white but quite white for a brush. It is so fluffy and soft, I use it to blend crease and outer corner area.
And it works really well (^_^v
But because of its white bristles, I have to wash it twice with baby shampoo, the other brushes only need once except for some foundation brush which stained by foundation, I have to wash it more than once also.

You can buy masami brushes from their website http://www.masamishouko.com

image

Recently I decided to get these two brushes, I’m also interested with its black ferrule and long handle. I personally prefer 18cm handle now (^_^).

I bought this at Matahari Tunjungan Plaza for IDR 28.900 each. Some of the price of the brushes has rising up!! Uugghh!!
I got Concealer Brush and Small Dome Brush on my hand, and the small dome brush used to be IDR 25.900, and now IDR 28.900.

image

This one is Concealer Brush 303, the baby version of Foundation Brush 302. Have the same softness as 302, actually you can use this brush to put on your concealer on targeted area with its precise size and shape, and then blend the concealer with foundation brush. Like mother like daughter, nyahahaha~

It is three tone synthetic brush, dense bristles, it is proper for liquid or creamy products. Easy to be cleaned, and easy to dry.

image

This one is Small Dome Brush, since I got this I almost always reach for this brush when I’m doing my eye make up. It’s a natural bristles but it’s soft, the colour of the bristles is darker than Angled Shading Brush in my opinion.

It picks up product in a proper amount, and I can use it as a subtitute for Pencil Brush from their professional line which is more expensive😉

I usually use it for crease area, outer corner, or even lower inner corner because of its tapered/pointy/dome shape. Easy to be used on hard-to-reach area.

image

Finally, I’m DONE!!! Yeah!!!

It such a long post, sorry for that, but I hope I can give you information about those brushes so that it can help you decide to buy it or not.

Also, don’t forget to check my Real Techniques Brush Sets Review
Ecotools Brushes Review

This is my review. Hope this helpful. Any of you own it too? Share your thoughts with me.
Thanks for reading.
Reynata M.S.

7 thoughts on “My make up brush collection and review (Masami Shouko, Everyday Minerals, e.l.f, Skin Food, Tammia)

Leave a Reply

